Two friends in their 20s talking over a cafe table, one jotting notes in a notebook while comparing everest business funding lenders in a bright modern coffee shop

Compare 30 Small Personal Loan Lenders for Your Everest Business Funding Search

Last updated:

See published amounts, APRs, fees, terms and funding times for 30 smaller US lenders that cover $500 to $5,000, then confirm current terms with each lender.

The 30-Lender Comparison Table

The table below lists all 30 lenders in ranked order, with the amount range, APR range, term, minimum credit score, funding time and main fee each lender publishes, so you can scan and shortlist quickly.

30 smaller personal loan lenders, as published by each lender (confirm current terms with the lender)
LenderLoan amountsAPR rangeTermsMinimum creditFunding speedFees
Oportun$300–$10,000 unsecured (secured $2,525–$18,500)Up to 36% (examples at 35.95%)12–54 months unsecuredNo minimum; credit history not requiredTypically 1–3 business daysAdministrative fee up to 10% of principal
Upgrade$1,000–$50,0007.74%–35.99%24–84 monthsNot disclosedWithin 1 business day after verificationOrigination fee 1.85%–9.99%
LendingPoint$1,000–$36,5007.99%–35.99%24–72 monthsNot disclosedAs soon as next business dayOrigination fee up to 10%
Upstart$1,000–$75,000 (state minimums vary)6.3%–35.99%36 or 60 monthsNot disclosedTypically next business dayOrigination fee varies (reviewers report up to 12%)
PenFed Credit Union$600–$50,0006.09%–17.99% (per published reviews)Up to 60 monthsNot disclosedAs soon as next day after approvalNo origination fee
Kashable$250–$30,0006%–35.99%6–36 monthsNot disclosedNot disclosedOrigination fee may apply (lender example: $225 on $5,000)
Mariner Finance$1,000–$25,000 (online $1,500–$14,000)15.99%–35.99%12–72 monthsNot disclosedUsually 1–2 business days after approvalOrigination fee varies by state
Lendmark Financial ServicesVaries by state (minimum not disclosed)Up to 35.99% on new loans12–72 monthsNot disclosedSame day may be available; about two-thirds funded within 1 business day (per lender)Origination or other fees may apply by state
1st Franklin FinancialUp to $15,000Up to 35.99% (posted rates for loans $3,500+)15–60 monthsNot disclosedSame day if documents are in by noonNot disclosed
Republic FinanceVaries by state; up to $25,000 securedUp to 35.99% (lender example 30.04%)12–60 monthsNot disclosedSame day by branch check; online loans 1–2 business daysOrigination fees vary by state
Regional Finance$600–$45,000 (max varies by state)24%–35.99% on larger loans; small loans may be higher12–60 monthsNot disclosedSame-day branch check possible; ACH about 1 business dayOrigination fee may apply; late and NSF fees by state
OneMain Financial$1,500–$30,000 (varies by state)11.99%–35.99%24–60 monthsNot disclosedAs soon as 1 hour to a debit card; ACH 1–2 business daysOrigination fee 1%–10% or flat $25–$500 by state
Tower LoanVaries by state and underwritingNot disclosed (lender example 34.96%)Typically 12–36 monthsNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
Heights FinanceUp to $10,000 (varies by state)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
World Finance$450–$10,000 (varies by state)Varies by state (Georgia examples 33.90%–101.61%)Varies by state (about 5–16 months in examples)Not disclosedSame-day loans advertised; approval in about an hourOrigination flat $25–$100 or a percentage; late fee $5–$30
Security Finance$494–$2,600 (varies by state)Not disclosed on site; varies by stateVaries by state (reviewers cite 8–24 months)Not disclosedOften same day at the branchOrigination, late and returned-payment fees by state
Sun Loan Company$150–$5,000 (varies by state)Not disclosedVaries by state (reviewers cite 3–48 months)Not disclosedFunds picked up at a branch; timing not disclosedNot disclosed
Pioneer Military Credit$500–$10,000Not disclosed (Military Lending Act compliant)6–36 monthsNot disclosedUsually within 24 hours on business daysLoan fees apply; 15-day no-cost return
Reprise Financial$2,500–$35,000 (GA minimum $3,500)9.5%–36%3–5 years540 (per published reviews)As soon as next business dayOrigination fee up to 6% (per published reviews)
Avant$2,000–$35,000 (state minimums vary)9.95%–35.99%24–60 monthsNot disclosedAs soon as next business dayAdministration fee up to 9.99%
Universal Credit$1,000–$50,00011.69%–35.99%36 or 60 months580 recommended (per published reviews)As soon as 1 business dayOrigination fee 5.25%–9.99%
Best Egg$2,000–$50,000 (higher minimums in GA, MA, OH)6.99%–35.99%36–60 months600 (per published reviews)1–3 business days; about half next dayOrigination fee 0.99%–9.99%
Prosper$2,000–$50,0008.99%–35.99%2–6 years640 to accept an offerAs soon as 1 business day; some loans take longerOrigination fee 1%–9.99% (per published reviews)
MoneyLion Credit Builder PlusUp to $1,000 (varies by state)5.99%–29.99% (includes membership fee)12 monthsNo hard credit checkPart paid upfront ($75–$500); rest after payoff$19.99 monthly membership
Personify Financial$500–$15,00036.00%–179.50%About 12–48 monthsNot disclosedAs soon as 1 business dayOrigination fee about 5%–5.49% (per published reviews)
NetCredit$1,000–$10,000 personal loansAbout 34%–99.99% (varies by state)6–60 monthsNot disclosedSame day if approved before 1 p.m. CTNo origination, late or NSF fees on newer loans
OppLoans$500–$5,000 (site lists up to $4,000)About 99%–195% (varies by state)9–18 monthsNot disclosedAs soon as same business dayNo origination, late or NSF fees
Rise$500–$5,000 (some states from $300)About 59.85%–299% (varies by state)7–36 monthsNo minimum publishedAs soon as next business dayNo origination or prepayment fees
Possible Finance$50–$500 (repeat customers up to $1,000)About 98%–163% (estimated)About 8 weeks (4 installments)No FICO checkWithin minutes by debit card; ACH 1–2 business daysFlat $15–$25 per $100 borrowed in most states
Achieve$5,000–$50,0006.25%–35.99%24–60 months560 (660 for consolidation loans of $35,000+)24–72 hours after approvalOrigination fee 1.99%–9.99% (per published reviews)

On a phone, scroll the table sideways to see every column. Lenders near the top fit small loans best; lenders near the bottom either cost much more or start above most small-loan needs.

If you searched for everest business funding to cover a car repair, a vet bill or a gap between paychecks, you are probably comparing several small personal loan lenders at once. We built this page to make that easier. Below you will find 30 real, smaller US lenders that offer loans somewhere between $500 and $5,000, ranked by how well they fit that range, with their published amounts, APRs, terms, fees and funding speed side by side.

Every lender here is a fintech lender, a storefront installment company, a consumer-finance company or a credit union. We left out the biggest national banks on purpose, because most of them do not lend small amounts or require an existing relationship first. Use the table to narrow your list, read the lender notes for the details that matter, and then confirm every figure with the lender before you apply.

How We Picked the 30 Lenders

We picked lenders that publicly offer installment loans within or overlapping the $500 to $5,000 range, operate in multiple US states, and publish enough information online for a borrower to judge cost before signing.

We started with a long list of online personal loan lenders, branch-based consumer-finance companies, military lenders, employer-benefit programs and credit unions. Then we removed any lender that only offers loans above $10,000, that limits loans to one small region with no published terms, or that markets single-payment cash advances instead of installment loans. We also excluded any company whose name could be confused with ours.

The final 30 personal loan lenders are a mix on purpose. Some cap APRs at 36% or lower; others charge far more. Including both shows the real market a borrower with fair or poor credit faces, and it lets you see what you give up when you move from a capped personal loan lender to a high-cost one.

How We Compared Rates, Fees and Terms

We compared each lender on nine published data points: loan amount range, APR range, repayment terms, minimum credit score, funding speed, fees, best use, availability and practical drawbacks reported by the lender or by established review sources.

Whenever a lender publishes a figure on its own site, we used that figure. Where a lender does not publish a number, we either relied on widely cited third-party reviews and labeled it that way, or we wrote "Not disclosed." We never guessed. The order of the list reflects three questions, weighed together:

  • Range fit: how much of the $500 to $5,000 range the lender actually covers, including state minimums.
  • Cost control: whether the lender caps APRs near 36% or below, and how large its fees are.
  • Access: how open the lender is to fair or thin credit, and how quickly money arrives.

A lender with a low APR but a $5,000 minimum ranks below one that serves $1,000 needs at a capped rate, because a lender you cannot use for your amount is not a real option. For an everest funding comparison, range fit is usually the first filter.

Hands sorting colorful index cards into three neat columns on a clean white tabletop, like sorting lender offers by APR, fees and term

How to Read the Comparison Table

Read the table from left to right: confirm the personal loan lender covers your amount and state first, then compare APR ranges, then check fees and term length, because those three numbers together decide what a personal loan really costs you.

A few reading tips help anyone sorting everest business funding options avoid surprises:

  • Ranges are ranges. An APR of "9.95%–35.99%" means a few applicants get the low end. Fair-credit borrowers usually land in the upper half. Use the top number for budgeting.
  • "Not disclosed" is information too. Branch lenders often publish no rate range. That does not mean they are expensive, but it means you must ask for the APR, finance charge and total of payments in writing.
  • Funding times start after approval. "Next business day" usually means after you sign and verification clears, not after you click submit.
  • Terms change the total. A longer term lowers the payment but raises total interest.

Here is how APR alone moves the cost. On a $1,000 loan over 12 months, an estimated payment at 17.99% APR is about $91.68 per month, or $1,100.10 in total. At 35.99% APR, the same loan is about $100.46 per month and $1,205.49 in total. Our representative example, $2,000 for 12 months at 24.89% APR, works out to an estimated $189.98 per month, $2,279.78 repaid and $279.78 in interest. Actual terms come from the lender. You can test your own numbers with our personal loan calculator, and the APR definition in our glossary explains why APR beats the interest rate for comparisons.

Why APR Caps by State Change What You See

State law sets the maximum rate and fees a licensed lender may charge on small installment loans, so the same lender can quote 30% APR in one state and well over 100% in another for an identical amount.

Many states cap small personal loans at or near 36% APR, while others allow much higher rates, especially on balances under $2,500. Some lenders that partner with banks follow the bank's home-state rules instead. That is why lenders such as World Finance, Rise and OppLoans list rates "by state," and why a few lenders on this list do not operate in states with strict caps at all.

When a lender is unavailable in your state, the reason is often the rate cap. That is not a problem for you; it usually means the lenders that do operate there must keep prices lower. If your everest business funding search turns up a lender that does not serve your state, move on to the next row. Check our guide to current personal loan rates for what typical APRs look like by credit tier, and ask any lender to show the state-specific rate before you sign. An everest funding estimate built on another state's rate will not match your contract.

How Origination Fees Shrink Your Deposit

An origination fee is a one-time charge, usually 1% to 10% of the loan, that many lenders deduct from your proceeds, so you receive less cash than you borrow while still repaying the full amount plus interest.

Fees matter more on small loans, the kind most everest business funding requests involve, than on large ones. On a $2,000 personal loan, a 9.99% fee removes roughly $200 before you spend a dollar. If you need exactly $2,000 in hand, you would have to borrow more, which raises the payment. Some lenders, including OppLoans, NetCredit and Rise, charge no origination fee but make up for it with very high APRs. Others, such as PenFed, charge no fee and keep APRs low, but require stronger credit.

Everest funding tip: always ask for two numbers: the amount financed (what you receive) and the total of payments (what you repay). The origination fee entry in our glossary walks through how lenders fold the fee into the APR.

Credit Insurance and Other Add-Ons to Watch For

Optional add-ons such as credit life insurance, disability coverage, involuntary unemployment insurance, auto club memberships and payment protection plans can raise the cost of a small installment loan and are rarely required to get approved.

Branch-based personal loan lenders are more likely to offer these products at closing, and some charge for them upfront by adding the premium to the loan balance, which means you pay interest on the insurance too. Regulators and state attorneys general have challenged several lenders over add-ons that borrowers say they did not request. Here is a short checklist for closing day:

  • Ask which items on the contract are optional and remove the ones you do not want.
  • Compare the amount financed with the cash you are receiving; a large gap usually means fees or add-ons.
  • Read the cancellation window. Several lenders, including Mariner Finance, Heights Finance and Pioneer Military Credit, allow a no-cost return within about 15 days.
  • Do not sign on the spot if anything is unclear. A reputable lender will let you take the paperwork home.

If an everest business funding offer arrives with insurance already included, ask for a version without it so you can compare clean numbers.

How to Choose a Lender for Your everest business funding Need

Choose by matching the lender to your amount, credit profile and deadline: start with the lowest-cost lenders you qualify for, then move down the list only if those decline you or cannot fund in time.

  1. Set the exact amount. Get a written quote for the repair or bill before you apply for a personal loan, so you borrow only what you need.
  2. Check your credit and debt-to-income ratio. Our eligibility guide explains what lenders look for.
  3. Prequalify with soft inquiries. Most online lenders here let you see a rate without affecting your score. Collect three quotes if you can.
  4. Compare total cost, not payment. A lower monthly payment on a longer term can cost hundreds more.
  5. Use high-cost lenders last. Personal loans with triple-digit APRs can make sense for a true emergency when nothing else works, but keep the amount small and the term short.

Our request form can also help. When you submit an everest business funding request through our short request form, it may be shared with lenders in our network, and any offer comes directly from the lender. Approval is not guaranteed, there is no fee to use the service, and you are never obligated to accept an offer. Treat any offer you receive as one more quote to line up against this table.

How Current These Figures Are

All figures on this page are as published by each lender or, where noted, by established review sources at the time of our last check; lenders change rates, fees, amounts and state coverage often, so confirm every number directly with the lender.

We are not affiliated with any of these lenders unless a lender is specifically identified as a partner, and nothing on this page is an offer of credit. Inclusion is not an endorsement, and ranking reflects fit for $500 to $5,000 personal loans rather than any payment from a lender. This page contains no outbound links; to check a lender's current terms, search for the lender by name or call it directly. If you spot a figure that has changed during your own everest funding research, please tell us through the contact details in the site footer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which lenders on this list charge 36% APR or less?

Oportun, Upgrade, LendingPoint, Upstart, PenFed, Kashable, Mariner Finance, Lendmark, 1st Franklin, OneMain, Reprise, Avant, Universal Credit, Best Egg, Prosper, Achieve and MoneyLion publish maximum APRs at or below roughly 36%. Branch lenders that do not publish a range may still quote under 36% in states with strict caps, so ask each lender for the APR on your exact amount.

Why do some lenders show Not disclosed for rates or credit scores?

Many storefront lenders set pricing by state law and individual underwriting, so they do not post a single range online. Not disclosed means we could not find a published figure from the lender. It does not mean the lender is better or worse. Ask for the APR, finance charge and total of payments in writing before you sign any personal loan contract.

Can I get quotes from several of these lenders without hurting my credit?

Usually yes. Most online lenders on this list, and several branch lenders, offer prequalification with a soft inquiry that does not affect your score. A hard inquiry normally happens only when you accept an offer and submit a full application. Lenders such as Pioneer Military Credit do not offer prequalification, so check before applying if you are shopping an everest funding request around.

How do I compare a no-fee lender with one that charges an origination fee?

Compare the total of payments against the cash you actually receive. A no-fee loan at 99% APR will almost always cost more than a loan with a 5% fee at 30% APR, but two loans with similar APRs can differ a lot once fees are counted. Ask both lenders for the amount financed and total repaid, then use those two numbers side by side.

Does this page earn money when I contact a lender listed here?

This page has no outbound links and no paid placements, and we are not affiliated with these lenders unless one is identified as a partner. The ranking is based on published amounts, APRs, fees and access for $500 to $5,000 personal loans. If you use our request form, any offer comes from a lender in our network, and you are free to decline it.

Lender-by-Lender Notes

Each lender note below explains who the lender suits, its standout features, its main drawbacks and the specific questions to ask before you sign, in the same order as the comparison table.

1. Oportun

  • Best for: Thin or no credit file, $500–$4,000 needs
  • Availability: Online and retail locations in about 40 states
  • Amounts: $300–$10,000 unsecured (secured $2,525–$18,500)
  • APR: Up to 36% (examples at 35.95%)

Oportun sits at the top of our list of personal loan lenders because its typical first-time loan lands between $500 and $4,000, right where most small borrowing needs fall, and the lender caps APRs at 36%. It also considers applicants who have little or no credit history, which makes it one of the few mainstream options for people new to credit or new to the country. You can prequalify without affecting your credit score, and a co-signer may be allowed in some cases. The trade-offs are real, though. An administrative fee of up to 10% comes out of your proceeds, so a $2,000 personal loan could deposit noticeably less than you requested. Many repayment schedules are biweekly rather than monthly, which can catch you off guard if your budget runs on a monthly cycle. Unsecured loans are not offered in several states, including New York, Massachusetts, Maryland and Washington. Before you sign, check the payment frequency, the exact fee in dollars and whether a smaller amount would cover the bill. If you are weighing an everest business funding request against an Oportun offer, compare the amount you actually receive, not just the APR.

2. Upgrade

  • Best for: Fair-credit borrowers wanting fixed monthly payments
  • Availability: Online in most states (not CT, CO, IA, MD, MA, VT, WV)
  • Amounts: $1,000–$50,000
  • APR: 7.74%–35.99%

Upgrade is a strong online personal loan choice when you need at least $1,000 and want a predictable monthly payment. The published APR range of 7.74% to 35.99% is competitive for fair-credit borrowers, and an autopay discount may trim the rate further. Funds usually go out within one business day once verification clears, and the lender can pay creditors directly if you are consolidating card balances. Joint applications are accepted, which can help if your own score is borderline. The main drawback for small loans is the origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99%, which is taken out of your proceeds; on a $1,500 personal loan the top fee can remove a meaningful slice of the cash you need. Upgrade is also unavailable in a handful of states, including Colorado, Iowa and Massachusetts. Check whether the shortest term (24 months) fits your goal, since stretching a small balance over two years adds interest. Ask for the amount financed and the total of payments in writing, then line those numbers up against every other offer you receive, including anything that comes back from an everest business funding request.

3. LendingPoint

  • Best for: Fair credit with steady income
  • Availability: Online in most states (not NV or WV; higher minimums in GA, CO, HI)
  • Amounts: $1,000–$36,500
  • APR: 7.99%–35.99%

LendingPoint focuses on borrowers in the fair-credit band who have steady income, and its $1,000 minimum makes it a reasonable fit for mid-size needs such as a car repair or a dental bill. The published APR range runs from 7.99% to 35.99%, and funds are often sent by ACH the next business day after final approval. Prequalification uses a soft inquiry, and there is no prepayment penalty if you pay the balance early. Watch the origination fee, which can reach 10% depending on your state and profile. LendingPoint may let you choose whether the fee is added to the balance or deducted from proceeds; adding it means you receive the full amount but repay more. Reviewers report a minimum income expectation of around $35,000 a year, and several states carry higher minimum amounts, including Georgia at $3,500 and Colorado at $3,001. Residents of Nevada and West Virginia are not eligible. If your everest business funding need is closer to $1,500, compare the 24-month option against longer terms using our calculator before deciding how long to stretch a smaller personal loan.

4. Upstart

  • Best for: Limited credit history with strong education or job record
  • Availability: Online in most states (reviewers list CT, IA, ME, MD, NV, NY, OK, OR, WV as unavailable)
  • Amounts: $1,000–$75,000 (state minimums vary)
  • APR: 6.3%–35.99%

Upstart, an online personal loan marketplace lender, uses a wider set of data than a credit score alone, including education and employment, which can help younger borrowers or people with a short credit file. Loans start at $1,000 in most states, and funds are typically sent the next business day if you accept by 5 p.m. Eastern on a business day. Checking your rate is a soft inquiry, and there is no prepayment penalty. For small loans the catch is structure: terms are only 36 or 60 months, so even a $1,200 balance will be spread over at least three years unless you prepay. The origination fee is not published as a range on the lender's site, and reviewers report it can reach 12%, which is high for a small amount. State minimums also vary, with Georgia at $3,100 and Massachusetts at $7,000. Upstart makes sense if your profile is thin but your income is solid and you plan to pay ahead of schedule. Ask for the fee in dollars and compare the total cost with a shorter-term personal loan from another lender.

5. PenFed Credit Union

  • Best for: Good credit seeking the lowest APR ceiling
  • Availability: Online nationwide; membership required ($5 deposit)
  • Amounts: $600–$50,000
  • APR: 6.09%–17.99% (per published reviews)

PenFed is a federal credit union, not a bank, and it offers one of the lowest APR ceilings on this list, with published reviews citing a top rate of 17.99%. Loans start at $600, there is no origination fee and no early payoff fee, and checking your rate uses a soft pull. Anyone can join by opening a savings account with a $5 deposit, and membership is created during the application. That combination makes a PenFed personal loan one of the cheapest ways to borrow $600 to $5,000 if your credit is good. The drawbacks: approval standards are stricter than at storefront lenders, the lowest rate requires excellent credit and autopay, and there is a $50 minimum monthly payment. Co-signers are not allowed, although a co-borrower who is also a member can apply jointly. Funding can arrive as soon as the next day after approval, but direct payments to creditors may take a few days. If your score is fair or better, compare a PenFed quote before accepting any offer above 30% APR from an everest funding search or another lender.

6. Kashable

  • Best for: Employees whose employer offers it as a benefit
  • Availability: Through participating employers; federal program in all states except WV
  • Amounts: $250–$30,000
  • APR: 6%–35.99%

Kashable is not open to everyone: it works as a voluntary benefit offered through employers, and repayments come straight out of your paycheck through payroll deduction. If your employer or federal agency participates, it can be one of the most flexible small-loan options here, with amounts starting at $250 and terms from 6 to 36 months. The published APR range is 6% to 35.99%, and the lowest rates depend on a responsible financial history. Payroll deduction lowers the risk of a missed payment, but it also means the loan payment comes out before the rest of your money reaches your account, so budget for that. Kashable's own examples show an origination fee, such as $225 on an 18-month $5,000 loan, so ask for the fee on your specific amount. Personal loans are not currently available to active military members and their dependents, and proceeds cannot be used for tuition. Everest funding tip: check with your HR department or benefits portal first; if your employer offers it, compare Kashable against any personal loan quote you receive.

7. Mariner Finance

  • Best for: Branch support with fair or rebuilding credit
  • Availability: Branches and online in about 27 states
  • Amounts: $1,000–$25,000 (online $1,500–$14,000)
  • APR: 15.99%–35.99%

Mariner Finance blends online personal loan applications with a branch network across roughly 27 states, which suits borrowers who want to sit down with someone before signing. Loans run from $1,000 to $25,000, though online applications are generally limited to $1,500 to $14,000, and Georgia loans start above $3,000. The published APR range is 15.99% to 35.99%, and a vehicle-secured loan may improve your terms. Mariner offers a 15-day satisfaction period: repay in full with certified funds within that window and finance charges are waived. Origination fees vary by state and some loans include them, so ask for the dollar amount. Be alert to optional add-on products; Mariner faces a multistate lawsuit alleging hidden add-ons, which the company disputes. Read the closing documents line by line and decline any insurance or membership you did not ask for. For an everest business funding comparison, Mariner works best when you want in-person help and have time for a slightly slower process.

8. Lendmark Financial Services

  • Best for: Branch-based help with flexible terms
  • Availability: 550+ branches in 24 states
  • Amounts: Varies by state (minimum not disclosed)
  • APR: Up to 35.99% on new loans

Lendmark operates more than 550 branches in 24 states and states that APRs on new loans will not exceed 35.99%. Its representative example, a $4,500 loan over 42 months at 33.10% APR including permitted origination fees, shows how fees are folded into the APR. Terms run from 12 to 72 months, and the lender reports that about two-thirds of recent personal loan applications were approved and funded within one business day. You can check whether you prequalify online without affecting your score, and there is no prepayment penalty. The weak spot is transparency: minimum and maximum amounts are not listed on the main site, collateral may be required for larger loans, and fees depend on state law. Ask the branch for the smallest amount it will lend in your state, whether your loan is secured and the full fee schedule. Lendmark suits people who want a fixed-rate personal loan with branch support and a term long enough to keep payments modest, as long as the total cost still makes sense.

9. 1st Franklin Financial

  • Best for: Southeastern borrowers who want local branches
  • Availability: Branches in 10 states (AL, FL, GA, KY, LA, MS, SC, TN, TX, VA)
  • Amounts: Up to $15,000
  • APR: Up to 35.99% (posted rates for loans $3,500+)

1st Franklin Financial is a Southern consumer-finance company offering personal loans with branches in ten states, from Georgia and Alabama to Texas and Virginia. It lends up to $15,000, with terms from 15 to 60 months, and its posted maximum APR is 35.99% for loans of $3,500 and above. The lender's own example is a $3,600 loan at 35.99% over 24 months. Smaller loans may carry different pricing, so ask for the APR on your exact amount. Same-day approval and funding are possible if you submit every requested document by noon, and prequalification uses a soft inquiry. Some loans may require collateral, and active-duty borrowers covered by the Military Lending Act cannot pledge a vehicle. Fees are not published online, which means the loan contract is the place to confirm origination, late and insurance charges. 1st Franklin suits borrowers who value a hometown branch and quick in-person decisions. For a small personal loan, request quotes at two amounts, such as $1,500 and $3,500, to see how the rate changes.

10. Republic Finance

  • Best for: In-person closing with same-day funds
  • Availability: 280+ branches in about 16 states
  • Amounts: Varies by state; up to $25,000 secured
  • APR: Up to 35.99% (lender example 30.04%)

Republic Finance runs more than 280 branches across roughly 16 states, mostly in the South and Midwest, and offers both unsecured and vehicle-secured personal loans. Its posted example is a $7,000 loan at 30.04% APR over 60 months, and reviewers report APRs up to 35.99%. Terms run from 12 to 60 months. Prequalification does not affect your score, and some applicants can apply and close entirely online, while secured loans must close in a branch with collateral and insurance. Branch loans can be funded the same day by check, which helps when a repair shop wants payment before releasing your car. Origination fees apply and vary by state, and the lender links to a fee schedule rather than listing figures on its main page. Customer reviews mention aggressive collection calls and unexpected charges, so read the contract carefully and ask whether any credit insurance is optional. If you are comparing everest funding quotes for a $1,000 to $3,000 need, request Republic's quote for the smallest amount you can manage.

11. Regional Finance

  • Best for: Borrowers with poor credit near a branch
  • Availability: Branches in 20 states
  • Amounts: $600–$45,000 (max varies by state)
  • APR: 24%–35.99% on larger loans; small loans may be higher

Regional Finance makes personal loans from $600 in 20 states across the South, Southwest and Midwest, and it openly considers borrowers with poor credit. Third-party reviews list APRs of 24% to 35.99% for larger loans, while the lender's own disclosures note that loans of $600 to $2,500 can carry higher APRs, so a small loan may cost more than the headline range suggests. Terms run from 12 to 60 months. You can prequalify online with a soft inquiry, but you typically finish the paperwork and sign at a branch, where you may be able to pick up a check the same day. Larger loans may require a lien on a vehicle. Reviewers mention origination fees of up to 10% and a small processing fee for one-time payments. Regional reports to the credit bureaus, so on-time payments can help rebuild a score. Before you settle on Regional for an everest business funding gap, ask for the APR, fee and total of payments on the exact amount you need, and decline optional products you do not want.

12. OneMain Financial

  • Best for: Fast funding with branch support
  • Availability: 1,300+ branches in most states
  • Amounts: $1,500–$30,000 (varies by state)
  • APR: 11.99%–35.99%

OneMain Financial is one of the largest non-bank personal loan lenders, with more than 1,300 branches, and it lends from $1,500 to $30,000 at published APRs of 11.99% to 35.99%. The $1,500 floor (higher in some states, such as Alabama at $2,100) means it is better suited to the upper half of the $500 to $5,000 range. Funding is a standout: money can reach a bank-issued debit card about an hour after closing, while ACH or a check takes one to two business days. Secured loans backed by a vehicle may lower the rate, though active-duty borrowers covered by the Military Lending Act cannot pledge a vehicle. Every loan carries an origination fee, either a percentage of up to 10% or a flat amount depending on state law. Some loans use precomputed interest, which can reduce the savings from early payoff. Ask about optional credit insurance and say no if you do not want it. An everest business funding shopper needing $2,000 or more should get a OneMain quote as a benchmark.

13. Tower Loan

  • Best for: Collateral-backed loans in the Deep South
  • Availability: Offices in 240+ cities across about 8 states
  • Amounts: Varies by state and underwriting
  • APR: Not disclosed (lender example 34.96%)

Tower Loan is a Mississippi-based lender with offices in more than 240 cities, mainly across the Deep South and the Midwest, including Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Missouri and Illinois. Its website shows an example loan of $6,000 over 26 months at a 34.96% APR, but it does not post a rate range, loan limits or fees. Quotes typically cover 12 to 36 months, and the lender says maturities are never shorter than a year. Checking rates does not affect your credit, but not everyone can apply online, and secured loans are in-branch only with collateral and insurance required. Interest is prorated, so paying early can reduce what you owe. Reviewers report maintenance fees and collection complaints, which is a reason to ask for a complete fee list before you sign. Tower Loan can work for borrowers who prefer a local office and have collateral, but because so little is published, treat its quote as one everest funding data point to compare against at least two other personal loan offers.

14. Heights Finance

  • Best for: Midwestern and Southern borrowers wanting a branch
  • Availability: Branches in 13 states (includes the Covington Credit brand)
  • Amounts: Up to $10,000 (varies by state)
  • APR: Not disclosed

Heights Finance operates branches in 13 states, from Illinois and Wisconsin to Texas, Georgia and South Carolina, and the Covington Credit brand is now part of the Heights family. It focuses on small personal loans. The lender advertises loans of up to $10,000, depending on your state, and offers both secured and unsecured options, including refinancing for existing customers. What it does not publish is just as important: there is no APR range, term range or fee schedule on its main pages, only a note that rates, terms and conditions apply. You will need ID, proof of residence and proof of income, and every application involves a credit check and underwriting. Reviewers have flagged billing and customer-service complaints, and online applications are not available in every state. Heights can be a practical option if a branch is nearby and you want a face-to-face conversation, but ask for the APR, total of payments and every fee in writing, then compare that quote with a lender that publishes its numbers.

15. World Finance

  • Best for: Small, short loans with in-person service
  • Availability: About 1,000 branches in 16 states
  • Amounts: $450–$10,000 (varies by state)
  • APR: Varies by state (Georgia examples 33.90%–101.61%)

World Finance, the consumer brand of World Acceptance Corporation, runs about 1,000 branches in 16 states and focuses on small installment loans; its average new loan is around $2,000. Loans range from roughly $450 to $10,000, with larger amounts generally requiring a vehicle lien. The lender's own Georgia examples show how much cost varies with size: a small five-month loan carries an APR above 100%, while a 16-month loan of about $2,900 carries 33.90%. Fees can include a flat origination charge of $25 to $100 or a percentage, late fees of $5 to $30 and returned-payment fees of $10 to $50, all subject to state limits. Same-day funding is advertised and most decisions come within about an hour. World also offers tax preparation, which some customers find convenient. Because APRs on smaller balances can run high, ask for quotes at two or three amounts and terms, and compare the total of payments against an online personal loan before you commit.

16. Security Finance

  • Best for: Small fixed-payment loans finished in person
  • Availability: Branches in about 12 states
  • Amounts: $494–$2,600 (varies by state)
  • APR: Not disclosed on site; varies by state

Security Finance specializes in small installment personal loans of roughly $494 to $2,600, which places it squarely in the lower half of the $500 to $5,000 range. Its affiliated companies are licensed in about a dozen states, including Alabama, Georgia, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas. You can start online, but a team member calls to finish the application and funds are usually handed over at a branch, often the same day. Payments are fixed and equal with no balloon payment, and there is no prepayment penalty. The lender does not post APRs online, and third-party reviewers have reported rates well above 36% in some states, along with origination and account-handling fees where state law allows. Reviewers also mention frequent collection calls after missed payments. Security Finance can work when you need a few hundred dollars and prefer a branch, but ask for the APR and total of payments, and check whether a credit union or employer-based alternative could cost less before you sign for a small personal loan.

17. Sun Loan Company

  • Best for: Borrowers without a bank account
  • Availability: 280+ offices in 7 states (AL, IL, MO, NV, NM, OK, TX)
  • Amounts: $150–$5,000 (varies by state)
  • APR: Not disclosed

Sun Loan Company, founded in San Antonio, runs more than 280 offices in seven states: Alabama, Illinois, Missouri, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Advertised loan amounts run from about $150 up to $5,000, but state limits vary widely; some reviewers show Texas and Oklahoma maximums well under $2,000. A standout is that Sun Loan does not require a bank account or proof of employment, which helps people who handle money in cash. Payments can be made by cash, check, money order or debit card, and on-time payments are reported to the credit bureaus. The downside is transparency: APRs and fees appear only in your contract, and you usually have to visit a branch to finish the application and collect funds. Ask the office for the APR, finance charge, total of payments and the state maximum before signing. If you are running an everest funding comparison and have a checking account, compare Sun Loan's quote with at least one lender that publishes a capped APR.

18. Pioneer Military Credit

  • Best for: Active-duty service members
  • Availability: Nationwide for eligible active-duty members (state restrictions apply)
  • Amounts: $500–$10,000
  • APR: Not disclosed (Military Lending Act compliant)

Pioneer Military Credit lends only to active-duty service members in every branch, plus Guard and Reserve members on full-time active orders. Its personal loans run from $500 to $10,000 over 6 to 36 months with fixed rates, and the company states it complies with the Military Lending Act, which limits the military annual percentage rate to 36% for covered borrowers. Decisions are quick, and funding usually arrives within 24 hours on business days. Payments can be made by automatic bank withdrawal, military allotment or mail, and a 15-day return window lets you give back the full amount at no cost. The drawbacks are disclosure-related: the website does not list an APR range or fee amounts, and there is no prequalification, so you only see the price after a hard inquiry. Retirees are not eligible for the standard program. Before applying, check free or low-cost options through your branch's relief society, then compare Pioneer's offer with a credit union personal loan from a military-focused institution.

19. Reprise Financial

  • Best for: Fair credit with a vehicle or co-signer
  • Availability: Online in about 37 states and DC
  • Amounts: $2,500–$35,000 (GA minimum $3,500)
  • APR: 9.5%–36%

Reprise Financial makes personal loans from $2,500, so it fits the upper end of the small-loan range, and it is open to fair credit, with published reviews citing a 540 minimum score. Its site lists APRs of 9.5% to 36%, with higher rates for loans not secured by a vehicle or home fixtures, and reviewers note the typical borrower lands between 25% and 29.99%. Terms run three to five years. Funds can arrive the next business day if the loan is funded by 3 p.m. Central. Helpful features include co-signed and secured options, direct payment to creditors, changeable due dates, a 15-day grace period before a late fee and hardship programs. The origination fee can reach 6%, and payments are reported only to Experian, which limits the credit-building benefit. Reprise is not available in states such as New York, Pennsylvania and Washington. If you need $3,000 to $5,000 and can add collateral or a co-signer, ask Reprise for a secured quote and compare it with an unsecured personal loan.

20. Avant

  • Best for: Fair credit needing $2,000 or more
  • Availability: Online in most states
  • Amounts: $2,000–$35,000 (state minimums vary)
  • APR: 9.95%–35.99%

Avant is a long-running online personal loan lender aimed at fair-credit borrowers, with loans from $2,000 to $35,000, APRs of 9.95% to 35.99% and terms of 24 to 60 months. Prequalification uses a soft inquiry, and if you are approved by 4:30 p.m. Central on a weekday, funds generally arrive the next business day. Customer service is available daily. The key cost to understand is the administration fee of up to 9.99%, which is deducted from your proceeds and treated as part of the principal, so you pay interest on it. Avant's own example shows a $5,700 loan delivering about $5,130 in cash. That structure makes small loans relatively expensive if you land at the top of the fee scale. Avant previously settled FTC allegations about its loan servicing without admitting wrongdoing, and it scored below average in a recent J.D. Power lending satisfaction study. Use Avant as an everest funding comparison point when you need at least $2,000, and focus on the cash you receive versus the total you repay.

21. Universal Credit

  • Best for: Fair or rebuilding credit consolidating cards
  • Availability: Online in most states
  • Amounts: $1,000–$50,000
  • APR: 11.69%–35.99%

Universal Credit is a personal loan brand backed by Upgrade and its bank partners, and it targets borrowers with fair or rebuilding credit; published reviews cite 580 as a recommended minimum score. Loans run from $1,000 to $50,000 at 11.69% to 35.99% APR, with terms of three or five years, and funds can arrive within one business day of approval. Direct payment to creditors is available for consolidation, though that route can take up to two weeks. The cost to watch is the origination fee, which starts at 5.25% and can reach 9.99%. On a $1,500 loan, that fee can remove a sizable chunk before any interest accrues. Late and returned-payment fees are modest, and there is no prepayment penalty. With a three-year minimum term, small balances sit on your books longer than they need to unless you prepay. Universal Credit fits best when you need $2,000 or more to roll card balances into one payment; for smaller needs, a lender with shorter terms may cost less.

22. Best Egg

  • Best for: Good credit consolidating card debt
  • Availability: Online in most states (not IA, NE, VT, WV, DC)
  • Amounts: $2,000–$50,000 (higher minimums in GA, MA, OH)
  • APR: 6.99%–35.99%

Best Egg serves borrowers with fair to good credit, with published reviews citing a 600 minimum score, and it lends from $2,000 at APRs of 6.99% to 35.99%. Terms run from 36 to 60 months, and the lender says about half of customers receive funds the next day, with most deposits arriving within one to three business days after verification. It can pay creditors directly, and homeowners may use permanent fixtures as collateral for a secured loan that typically carries a lower rate. The origination fee ranges from 0.99% to 9.99% and comes out of your proceeds; loans of four years or longer carry a fee of at least 4.99%. Co-borrowers are not allowed, and reviewers note a maximum debt-to-income ratio. Best Egg is not available in Iowa, Nebraska, Vermont, West Virginia or Washington, D.C. For a $2,000 to $5,000 consolidation, Best Egg can be competitive if your credit is solid; choose the three-year term to limit the fee and total interest on a smaller personal loan.

23. Prosper

  • Best for: Borrowers with a co-applicant
  • Availability: Online in most states (not IA or WV)
  • Amounts: $2,000–$50,000
  • APR: 8.99%–35.99%

Prosper is one of the original peer-to-peer platforms, and today it offers personal loans from $2,000 to $50,000 at 8.99% to 35.99% APR with terms of two to six years. The lender states that borrowers who accept an offer must have a credit score of at least 640, and co-applicants are allowed, which can help if your own score is close to the line. Funding can arrive as soon as one business day after the loan is finalized, though reviewers report that some loans take up to two weeks. Published reviews list an origination fee of 1% to 9.99%, deducted from your proceeds, so a $2,000 loan at the top fee would deliver about $1,800. There is no autopay discount, and late fees apply after 15 days. Payments are reported to all three bureaus. Prosper is not available in Iowa or West Virginia. It suits borrowers with fair to good credit who want a two-year term on a small balance; compare its fee carefully against no-fee lenders before accepting.

24. MoneyLion Credit Builder Plus

  • Best for: Building credit rather than covering a big bill
  • Availability: Online in most states (not IN, IA, MT, NE, NV, VT)
  • Amounts: Up to $1,000 (varies by state)
  • APR: 5.99%–29.99% (includes membership fee)

MoneyLion's Credit Builder Plus loan is designed to build a payment history rather than to cover a large expense. It offers up to $1,000 over a standard 12-month term at 5.99% to 29.99% APR, a figure that includes the required $19.99 monthly Plus membership. Only part of the loan, roughly $75 to $500, is paid out upfront; the remainder sits in a credit reserve account and is released after you repay. There is no hard credit check, all scores are accepted, and payments are reported to the three major bureaus. To qualify you need a checking account open at least 60 days with regular income. The downsides are the membership cost and the fact that you cannot use most of the money right away, which makes it a poor fit for an urgent repair. MoneyLion is also not available in several states. Consider it when your goal is a stronger credit file before you apply for a larger personal loan later.

25. Personify Financial

  • Best for: Poor credit when lower-cost options decline
  • Availability: Online in about 26–28 states
  • Amounts: $500–$15,000
  • APR: 36.00%–179.50%

Personify Financial offers personal loans of $500 to $15,000 to borrowers with poor or fair credit, weighing income and ability to repay more heavily than a score. Funds can arrive in as little as one business day if you are approved and e-sign by 11:59 p.m. Central, and checking your offer does not affect your credit. The price is the headline issue: reported APRs run from 36% to 179.50%, plus an origination fee of about 5% that reviewers say is usually added to the balance. On a small loan at a triple-digit rate, the interest can exceed the amount you borrowed. Personify does not charge an application fee or a prepayment penalty, so paying early can sharply reduce cost. It operates in roughly 26 to 28 states, directly or through a bank partner. Treat Personify as a fallback after you have tried credit unions and lenders with APRs capped near 36%, and run the numbers on a short term before signing up for any high-cost personal loan.

26. NetCredit

  • Best for: Fair-to-poor credit needing fast deposits
  • Availability: Online in about 35–37 states
  • Amounts: $1,000–$10,000 personal loans
  • APR: About 34%–99.99% (varies by state)

NetCredit offers personal loans from $1,000 to $10,000 with terms of 6 to 60 months, and it is open to borrowers with fair or poor credit, using income and bank activity alongside credit data. Approvals before 1 p.m. Central on weekdays are typically funded the same day, which is among the fastest options here. On newer loans NetCredit charges no origination, late or returned-payment fees and no prepayment penalty, so nearly all the cost is interest. That interest is steep: APRs run from about 34% to 99.99% depending on state and profile. Payments are reported to Experian and TransUnion, not Equifax. Parent company Enova was previously penalized by the CFPB, and that order has since been terminated. For an everest business funding search after a decline elsewhere, NetCredit can make sense when you need money quickly and have been declined elsewhere, but compare its offer with any lender quoting under 36% first. If you take it, choose the shortest term you can afford and pay ahead whenever possible.

27. OppLoans

  • Best for: Poor credit with steady income and a bank account
  • Availability: Online in about 39 states
  • Amounts: $500–$5,000 (site lists up to $4,000)
  • APR: About 99%–195% (varies by state)

OppLoans issues installment loans through bank partners for borrowers with poor credit, looking at income and bank history rather than a score. Reviewers list amounts of $500 to $5,000, though the lender's own page currently advertises up to $4,000, with terms of 9 to 18 months and same-day funding available. There are no origination, late, returned-payment or prepayment fees. The trade-off is cost: APRs of roughly 99% to 195% mean a $2,000 loan at 160% over nine months can cost well over $1,500 in interest, according to published reviews. Payments may be biweekly or semimonthly, and on-time payments are reported to all three bureaus. OppLoans runs a program that checks whether another lender might offer you a loan under 36% APR, which is worth using. It is not available in states such as New York, Maryland and Georgia. If your everest business funding plan includes OppLoans, use it only after lower-cost options decline, and keep the amount and term as short as your budget allows.

28. Rise

  • Best for: Poor credit with a five-day cancellation option
  • Availability: Online in about 30 states
  • Amounts: $500–$5,000 (some states from $300)
  • APR: About 59.85%–299% (varies by state)

Rise, also styled RISE, offers personal loans of $500 to $5,000 in about 30 states to borrowers whose credit is not perfect, with terms of 7 to 36 months that vary by state. If you are approved and accept before 6 p.m. Eastern, funds typically arrive the next business day. Rise charges no origination, application or prepayment fees, and it offers a five-business-day window to cancel and repay only the principal. On-time payments are reported to the credit bureaus, and some customers may qualify for lower rates over time. The cost is the concern: reported APRs run from about 60% to 299%, and the low end is uncommon. Published examples show a $2,500 loan over 24 months costing more than twice the amount borrowed. Rise has no mobile app and does not allow co-signers. In any everest funding review, consider it only as a last resort after credit unions and lenders capped near 36% decline, and if you take a high-cost personal loan, make extra payments early to cut interest.

29. Possible Finance

  • Best for: Very small gaps of $500 or less
  • Availability: App-based in about 34 states
  • Amounts: $50–$500 (repeat customers up to $1,000)
  • APR: About 98%–163% (estimated)

Possible Finance is an app-based lender for very small gaps: new customers can borrow $50 to $500, and repeat customers may qualify for up to $1,000. Loans are repaid in four installments over about eight weeks. There is no FICO check; approval relies on bank activity, income and cash flow, plus an alternative credit check. Funds can arrive within minutes to a debit card. The fee is a flat $15 to $25 per $100 borrowed in most states, which works out to an estimated 98% to 163% APR. You can move a payment up to 29 days without a late fee, and on-time payments are reported to Experian and TransUnion. Possible sits at the very bottom edge of the $500 to $5,000 range, so it fits only when $500 truly covers the need and you can repay within two months. For anything larger, a short-term personal loan with a capped APR will usually cost far less.

30. Achieve

  • Best for: Debt consolidation at the top of the range
  • Availability: Online in many states (varies)
  • Amounts: $5,000–$50,000
  • APR: 6.25%–35.99%

Achieve rounds out our personal loan list because its $5,000 minimum touches only the top edge of the small-loan range. Its personal loans run from $5,000 to $50,000 at 6.25% to 35.99% APR over 24 to 60 months, and the lender publishes a 560 minimum credit score, or 660 for consolidation loans of $35,000 or more. Funds typically arrive within 24 to 72 hours. Achieve can pay creditors directly, accepts co-borrowers and may offer rate discounts for direct pay, a co-borrower or eligible retirement savings. Published reviews list an origination fee of 1.99% to 9.99%, deducted from proceeds, and the lowest APR requires excellent credit, a smaller balance and a short term. Availability varies by state. If your everest business funding search is really about consolidating $5,000 or more in card debt, Achieve deserves a quote; if you only need $1,500, a lender with a lower minimum will be a better fit.

Ready to see what lenders can offer?

One free request for $500 to $5,000. Compare APR, term and total cost, and accept only the offer that fits your budget.

Start my free request